It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

Back when it was new, I started playing Winter Assault, but it got on my nerve very quickly.
Now that it's on GOG I gave it a second try and it pisses me off again.

I love the original DOW, but Winter Assault ... I just can't stand it.
Convois here, bunkers there and masses and masses of Orks, it's just no fun.
And the imperials are unlikeable idiots (if I hear "Where is his will needed" one more time ...)
The game can't handle the large troop sizes well either.

Currently I am on a race with the Eldars to the Titan, using a convoi.

Does it get any better at some point? Is it worth suffering through the next levels or should I skip the whole expansion?
Next levels? Campaign have 10 missions (5 for Order and Disorder) and 2 missions (1 per Order/Disorder) where you chose side (4th missions of both campaign).
Whole idea it is large hard missions. Half of original DoW campaign was "Press X to win" (select and send troops to other side of the map).

Its not about difficulty at all. It is not "if this game is too difficlt for you". It is "if this game not for you". The whole genre not for you. Maybe PC gaming not for you. RTS supposed to be not the "press X to win" games. You deal with map/resources/time (capturing map points), defending against attacking enemy and at same time build own base.

Winter Assault been AddOn for DoW just add few hardener mission to first 11 ones. Short campaigns. If you chose only one aide of four it will be just 5 missions for you. Eldars most easiest one since 4th mission for them going easier. This one mission os fruu only for Impire cause you get access to own base portioned based on how far you did get.