It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

Hello. I'm fairly new to IL2. I am also pretty 'fresh' when it comes to flight sims. I recently purchased FSX, and Freespace 2, as well as IL 2. After finishing Freespace 1&2, I am now familiarizing myself with FSX. As much as I love the game... no platform, that FSX provides I looked into some other games for my combat needs. The first was an MMO called WWII Online, and is a FPS with vehicle and aircraft elements. Unfortunately the majority of pilots in that game have been playing for YEARS, and I cannot begin to match their skill. I then turned to IL2.
At first, I couldn't wrap my head around the game. The lack of a decent tutorial. (Let ME fly while you talk mmk? Would rather not watch a video. Learn by doing, not by watching.) and a skimpy manual initially turned me off. Yet, for every WWII flight sim suggestion, this kept popping up. Everyone raved about the dynamic campaigns, and the realism of it. So, just recently I decided to give the game another try. I'm not entirely sure I'm glad I did.
After reading the 'Guide for Nuggets' as well as a few threads around these forums, I have mastered the art of landing, and taking off, and I think I have a good grasp of the basic flight controls. (I still can't shoot a plane down, but I'll be damned if I can't try.) However, a few things are still causing me issues. Here's a lineup of questions for you more experienced pilots.
1. I see the game has the most recent patch. I own the GOG Il2 1946 edition. In another thread, it was mentioned that the game wasn't patched and was missing the latest Dynamic Campaign generator. Since GOG updated the game, have they updated the DCG as well?