It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

hedwards: Right, we're susceptible to cancer because we're composed of a huge number of cells that need to divide regularly. That cell division happens anywhere from a few days for epithelial cells to about 50-60 years for neurons. Every time there's a cell division, there's a possibility that the cell will mutate in a way that results in uncontrollable growth.

Cockroaches are largely resistant to cancer because their cells only divide when they molt, which is far less frequently.

Anybody who lives long enough will wind up with cancer.
I'm not a doctor either, but i'm fairly sure that's not really how cancer works. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Causes_of_cancer

if every cellsplitting had a chance to produce cancer, even at astronomically low odds, any person would probably develop it multiple times a day. Plus the ones most at risk would be children since their metabolism is a lot faster than the ones of adults or elderly people.
WBGhiro: if every cellsplitting had a chance to produce cancer, even at astronomically low odds, any person would probably develop it multiple times a day.
Sorry, ^ this doesn't make any sense. :)
hedwards: Right, we're susceptible to cancer because we're composed of a huge number of cells that need to divide regularly. That cell division happens anywhere from a few days for epithelial cells to about 50-60 years for neurons. Every time there's a cell division, there's a possibility that the cell will mutate in a way that results in uncontrollable growth.

Cockroaches are largely resistant to cancer because their cells only divide when they molt, which is far less frequently.

Anybody who lives long enough will wind up with cancer.